Thanksgiving

Thanksgiving is one of my favorite holidays. The meaning of the holiday, the delicious food, and the time spent with family/friends is something I always cherish. This year, we celebrated with an American family that we met through church. I had the duty of making a pumpkin pie and green bean casserole, while my friend Katie made the turkey, stuffing and mashed potatoes (all from scratch). We went over to their apartment for an early dinner, followed by a walk through the town’s Christmas market and upon our return we each had a slice of pumpkin pie. Katie has a 2 and a half year old son (also named Alex), so the two boys had a great time playing together, while we enjoyed one another’s company.

Here is a prayer we read that I thought was so perfect for this day:

Lord, so often times, as any other day
When we sit down to our meal and pray

We hurry along and make fast the blessing
Thanks, amen. Now please pass the dressing

We’re slaves to the olfactory overload
We must rush our prayer before the food gets cold

But Lord, I’d like to take a few minutes more
To really give thanks to what I’m thankful for

For my family, my health, a nice soft bed
My friends, my freedom, a roof over my head

I’m thankful right now to be surrounded by those
Whose lives touch me more than they’ll ever possibly know

Thankful Lord, that You’ve blessed me beyond measure
Thankful that in my heart lives life’s greatest treasure

That You, dear Jesus, reside in that place
And I’m ever so grateful for Your unending grace

So please, heavenly Father, bless this food You’ve provided
And bless each and every person invited

Amen!

2 thoughts on “Thanksgiving

  1. Patty McHugh

    Very sweet and sincere! Love the poem that you read before your Thanksgiving meal! The pumpkin pie looks delicious, too! Great job, Steph! I can’t believe you guys have friends that have a son so close to Alex’s age, with the same name! Amazing! I bet the two boys had a blast together!!
    Love you, Mom

Leave a Reply

