American Goodies


After searching non-stop for an American food store, I’ve finally found one (1.5 years later). The store is called American Food Avenue and is based out of Geneva, Switzerland. They sell everything from Clorox disinfecting wipes to cinnamon Teddy Grahams (how’s that for a wide range? ;)). The products are slightly overpriced, but very much worth the excitement of having a stash of American treats in the cabinets. I never realized how much I would miss certain food items, even something as silly as Macaroni and Cheese! I can’t even begin to describe how excited I was to find this store!

Last Saturday I decided to splurge on an order of some of my favorite treats. The box must have been expedited because it arrived 3 days later! It felt like Christmas morning! I couldn’t decide what I wanted to snack on first. I suddenly had Mac and Cheese, Hot Fries, Doritos, peanut butter m&ms, Cheerios, Hershey Kisses, Spaghettios, and Cheez-it crackers (basically every unhealthy snack) at my fingertips. It seemed like a dream! As I brought each item out of the box and savored the moment, Alex enjoyed scattering packing peanuts throughout the apartment. =)

We are all ready for the 4th of July now!

8 thoughts on “American Goodies

    1. We most definitely could do an exchange! 🙂 Have you been able to find many Swiss products in the U.S.? Happy independence day to you as well! I hope you are able to see a nice firework display with Livia!

  1. Patty McHugh

    Glad you located that store, Steph! Is it really crazy as far as the prices of the items are concerned, and the cost to have these items shipped?? Just wondering since it is so expensive to send a box from here to there…otherwise, I would have sent you more American items, from time to time!
    Love you,
    Mom

    1. Some of the items are 2-3 times the price you’d pay in the U.S., but it’s not like I’m ordering a box every week (not yet at least). haha The shipping rate is not bad at all, I think it was around 10 chf. Love you!

  2. deeonuh

    I can totally relate! Every year during the Christmas Market here in Nuremberg, there’s a stand that sells American food products and I get really excited for foods that I didn’t even care so much for when I was back in the States. I guess its more than food, its getting a little piece of home, despite the fact that its in a less than ideal form (junk food!).

    Hope you enjoyed them all!

    1. Thanks! Yes, it’s such a special treat for me to have a few American food products around the apartment for a change (even if they are mostly junk food). haha We’re going to the expat expo in Zurich this weekend and I’m hoping they’ll have an American food stand.

Leave a Reply

